The 2 Disadvantages of Minimalism

Like everything, there’s always 2 sides- the good and the bad. Minimalism is the same. By recognizing the problems, we can avoid falling into the bad side of it. So here’s the 2 disadvantages of minimalism:

1. Addicted to Minimizing

Hoarding is unhealthy as we continuously seek to accumulate stuff which result in physical and mental clutter. This is exactly what minimalism is preventing, as it believes that clutter is mostly detrimental to our happiness. 

However, on the other extreme, someone who strongly relates themselves to minimalism may become obssessed with items. Just that in this case, it is constantly thinking of things to rid, rather than keep.

Which causes the paradox of not being able to achieve a clearer mind, which practising minimalism usually promotes.

2. No Back-up

Many minimalists out there advise that if we do not need an item for a certain period of time, or if the item cost less than a certain amount, we should sell, give, or throw it away. Usually failing to address the “what ifs” and “just in case” situations. Instead, just brushing these problems off.

Throwing away and find out later that it is actually useful and important is real for many minimalists. 

Author: Zheng Fan Minimalist

I don't want to be different. I want to be me.

4 thoughts on “The 2 Disadvantages of Minimalism”

  1. Hey! Thanks for the love on my blog! Also, I completely agree with these two bad things about minimalism. I got to point where I purged so much of my stuff that I had to go buy more and I just wasted my money. It’s all about balance.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

