The Charging Bull, Fearless Girl and Feminism

I am always intrigued by the Charging Bull on Wall Street. To me it represents strength and courage and resillience against a bearish economy. It reminds the people of New York, and America, to work hard and ride through the difficult times.

Recently, the news of a new statue which was erected infront of the Charging Bull were being published. This statue, Fearless Girl, was placed a few metres infront of Charging Bull in a defiance posture.

It saddens me. The innocent bull now looks like an idiot.

I love women as much as I love men. The world lacks love. I understand that women may still have unequal standing in today’s statistics in terms of their salary and role as compared to men. Feminist have done extremely well in the past few decades as we have also seen a rise in the female roles as leaders of the companies and even countries.

But what saddens me is that when “women are paid 43% less than men…” is automatically credited to gender-inequality. Or when a highly influential celebrity can openly announce “I want my daughter to grow up seeing a woman lead our country”, or when a certain beauty screams “girl power” one day and decides hang out her boobs the next. Something’s feeling wrong.

I think women’s rights is important. However, women’s rights and gender equality is more than just riding on the waves of others, or thinking that we can promote love through hate. It’s much more than that.

When feminists starts to go around squaring up to everyone, with their hands on their hips, feminism is taking a step backward.

Author: Zheng Fan Minimalist

I don't want to be different. I want to be me.

Leave a Reply

