One Year Without Facebook

I could vividly recall what happened exactly 1 year ago. I deactivated my Facebook account. Subsequently, I deleted it altogether.

I never looked back since.

I freed up at least 3 hours a day doing things I wanted to do more. By the way, that means over 1000 hours a year. My relationships with my family and friends improved. I am happier. I stop comparing. I stop being subconsciously obsessed with others’ lives. I stopped being force-fed with advertisements. I stopped seeing negative and violent posts (which did wonders to my sanity). I freed myself from daily bickers from people with different views.

So, if you’d like to try to live without your Facebook, here’s some advice:

  • Backup your photos
  • Don’t delete upon first try, deactivate first
  • Anticipate a lot of questions from your friends

Unfortunately, not having Facebook also means I don’t have 500 “friends” anymore. Means I cannot wish my friends happy birthday at 8am every morning anymore, and I am unable to know who recently gives birth and who recently went on a vacation.

Maybe one day, I may just re-register back an account. But for now, I’m contented with my new found freedom.

Author: Zheng Fan Minimalist

I don't want to be different. I want to be me.

18 thoughts on “One Year Without Facebook”

  1. You’re my hero! I really want to de-activate but I have 12 grandkids, and six kids and I would never know what they are doing without Facebook. However sometimes knowing what they are doing isn’t the best thing either!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I deleted my account 2 years ago and I did not miss it. 1,5 years later, I opened a new account only with 3 random FB friends. Actually I browsed through my former FB friends’ sites to catch up with news (wedding, children etc), but it seemed so time-consuming. After 8 months I deleted my account again (with only 3 FB friends). Ridiculous that nowadays people are taking photos of their breakfast or lunch.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m so glad that it turned out to be a positive decision for you. People fail to realize that Facebook make us focus on other people lives so much that we often forget our own existence.

    Like

  4. I wish it was that easy for me, always something keeping me there. Mostly being an introvert. I know if I cancel fb people will expect actual contact!😂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

