What If I’ve Gotten Everything Wrong?

What if everything is not what it seemed to be?

What if minimalism will not actually lead us to happiness? What if contentment will really lead us to a life of always finding ourselves in the lacking department?

What if real happiness really can be easily achieved by constantly pursuing material desires? Bags after bags. Clothes after clothes. That’s the real formula. Everyone in the streets, carrying a $5,000 Chanel, that’s what happiness really is.

Having a house full of clutter is happiness. After all, hoarding means that we will not have to worry about not having something when we need them.

Working overtime is not that much of a problem as long as there’s a lot of material items to justify for.

Materialism doesn’t necessary lead to debt. It can be overcomed by proper management of one’s money.

Social media brings joy and happiness. People really feel happy when they see everyone goes holiday, have a newborn kid, bought a new car, except themselves. Encouraging them to strive for similar achievements that others have. That’s why everyone is happy. Studies that show social media makes people depressed are wrong. Look how happy people smile on Instagram, they can’t be feeling that sad, right?

What if one day, I need to put my minimalist tail between my legs and hold up my hand to admit I’m wrong? I have misled everyone. What if one day I’ll expend all my happiness and wealth because of this silly concept called minimalism?

These happiness and freedom I’m feeling right now is simply short-termed. Maybe in 10, 20 years time, I will start to face all the negative effects of minimalism.

What if one day, I have to admit that materialism is the real deal?

Author: Zheng Fan Minimalist

I don't want to be different. I want to be me.

7 thoughts on “What If I’ve Gotten Everything Wrong?”

Leave a Reply

