Pearls

Last week, I bought a pair of pearl earrings and immediately regretted it. It was not the cost that made me regretted, as I bought it at quite a good deal at the jewelry shop. It was selling only 25% of its original price. For its price, it is a decent set of pearls.

I’ve always loved pearls. The wearer always exudes a different set of class, compared to other precious metal or stones. No doubt diamonds are beautiful too, but they are a little loud for my liking. Whereas, pearl seemed to sit quietly behind the limelight with its own grace and beauty.

A year back, I could not afford any jewelries for my then-girlfriend, current wife. I told her one day, I will buy a pair of pearl earrings for her. And that happened last week.

But I regretted buying it almost immediately. It came to my realization that pearl harvesting is a needless form of animal exploitation. No doubt, oysters or mussels don’t start squealing, like pigs do when their throats are slit, when they are pried open for their pearls, but it is totally unnecessary and wasteful.

Especially with today’s faux pearls that looked identical, there’s no reason to wear animals’ sufferings on our bodies. Even more unacceptable, wearing them not for survival or comfort, but for vanity reasons.

Beauty doesn’t require any of the oysters’ pearls or fox fur coat. The most beautiful thing in the world is a compassionate heart.

Author: Zheng Fan Minimalist

I don't want to be different. I want to be me.

Leave a Reply

