Traveler’s Dilemma

I love travelling. And I must admit that I feel extremely blessed to have the opportunity to have gone to many of my dream destinations. However, there will come to a point of time where we will have to decide, with our limited time and resources (money), whether should we seek new places and experiences or, go back to the places that we have enjoyed and wished to return again.

Exploring new places is fun and stimulating. But to continuously seek new places to explore is a dangerous mind-set. It is dangerous because we may start to develop a mind-set where we will never be satisfied with what we have achieved. Failing to realize that there will never be an end to exploration.

Does this mean that we should stop exploring?

My answer is we must always know where to draw the line. There must be a balance. We must learn to be contented. I see people who have been to 10 times more places than me but looking 100 times more depressed. Sulking all day as if only the next exotic trip can cheer them up.

Then, what is the difference between that and a drug addict?

Author: Zheng Fan Minimalist

I don't want to be different. I want to be me.

2 thoughts on “Traveler’s Dilemma”

  1. Oooooh intriguing discussion, Zheng. I understand what you mean about wanting more… But even if we don’t travel there will always be something else to obtain more and more of.. Such is perhaps part of being human.. unless we learn to have gratitude ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

